Travel
Comments 28

Six Days in Paris: Day Four

Hi, friend!

I apologize for my long absence. We’ve been getting in lots of last minute summer fun before school starts for everyone. I’m back today with a quick post to share day four of our June Paris vacation.

AVD-Paris2015Day4-1 AVD-Paris2015Day4-4

Day four began with Andy rushing off for the final day of his conference, leaving me with a busy schedule of completing the same tasks you see the park goers above doing. ;o) In all honesty though, I have to say that spending so much leisure time in the Luxembourg Gardens during this trip left a strong impression on me. I walked away from my hours in the sun and greenery learning that a) slowing down and enjoying life on a park bench is amazingly good for my wellbeing and b) allowing myself to recharge in this way put my mind in the perfect place to tackle the challenges of floor nursing and to increase my efficiency (without picking up the pace). Brilliant! Sign me up for more park time.

AVD-Paris2015Day4-3

After Andy and I met back up, we took the Métro (this one, to my surprise and enjoyment, arose out of the ground to glide upon tracks set above street level) to the Etoile station to purchase our tickets to the happiest place in Europe (check out next week’s post for all the details!).

AVD-Paris2015Day4-2

And then we tucked into The Auberge de Venise in our Montparnasse neighborhood for some of the most delicious French-style Italian food ever!

Thanks for stopping by! I’ll see you next week to share all the fun from Day Five. I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

XO,

Jacqueline

 

28 Comments

    • It really was amazingly delicious food!! We ended up eating there twice (wish I could eat there now!!).
      Hope your week is going well. XO

  1. French-style Italian food! *I die* Spaghetti alla carbonara ❤

    Beautiful pics and it sounds like you had a lovely trip!

    • You pegged it just right!! Both dishes were fantastic! In fact, we ended up going back the next night and ordered what the other had the night before. 😋
      You always have great comments to share. Thanks for saying hi. I hope your doing well.

      • It must have been wonderful if you had it twice! 😀 I am doing really well! Hope you are, too. It’s tough returning home from a fab trip!

  2. I’m glad you found some time to relax at the Luxembourg gardens, Paris is very famous for its gorgeous relaxing places, where to sit on a bench or even down in the meadows, have something good to eat, read a book and do just nothing. I’m really curious to see next ‘chapter’ of your French holidays. 😀

    • Hi, Alessia. :0) Yes! Who knew doing nothing could be so rewarding. I wish we had parks like this in my area…. I guess my equivalent would be national parks (Zion, Bryce, the Grand Canyon, etc). How about you? I’m sure you have wonderful parks in your area.

  3. Always nice to see pictures of Paris. You took the line 6 that goes over the Bir Hakeim bride, offering a fantastic view of the Eiffel tower. I lived a year in the 15th and used to take that line every day to go to work at La Défense, never getting tired of this view.

    • What a beautiful commute. I’m sure you miss it. Paris is such a wonderful, magical city.
      I hope you’re having some summer fun. XO

      • Actually I do not miss it that much. Paris is magical when you visit, or have a lot of leisure (or money, or both). When you work, it’s métro boulot dodo, and it’s very stressful. As much as I love Paris, I don’t think I would go back there to live.

      • Interesting. As an outsider, it’s easy to romanticize about how life would be living in Paris.
        It is wonderful to visit though. Can’t wait to go back!

  4. Beautiful! Neat that you rode on a Metro line that was above ground – one thing I remember vividly about Paris was how DEEP their subway went down (like, my ears popped deep) and that parts of it stank like piss. LOL.
    Looks like you had gorgeous weather too.

    • I know what you mean about that smell… I always wonder what those men, late at night, must be thinking while pissing in what is normally such a busy place. Do you think they’re proud of themselves? Lol. The Metro is great though. And, yes, the weather was great!
      Hope you’re doing well and having a great week. XO

    • Thanks, Lena!! We have lots of fun travel memories from this trip. What a great city!!
      I hope your summer is treating you well! XO

  5. I love seeing all your beautiful pictures! That spaghetti looks amazing… now I’m hungry! lol Hope you’re having a lovely time there!

  6. Thanks Jacqueline – such a lovely post and you’re so right about spending time in a park to recharge your batteries. Sounds as if you had an idyllic time in the Luxembourg Gardens. Have a lovely rest of your week and weekend 🙂

  7. Reify says

    These photos make me realise I’ve never been to Paris in Summer! What am I doing with my life?!

Leave a Reply

