Beauty
Comments 29

ColourPop + Coffee Break With Dani: Metamorphosis

Hi, friend!

As you know, I’m a huge Coffee-Break-With-Dani fan. Dani’s YouTube channel is just plain fun. Her big heart, constant smile and sense of humor, in addition to her devotion to kindness are just a few attributes that make her YouTube channel a must-watch for me. Having said this, I wasn’t sold on her latest collaboration with ColourPop — a set of four, seemingly neutral, Super Shock shadows called Metamorphosis — until I tried them, that is.

AVD-06Aug15-Metamorphosis6 AVD-06Aug15-Metamorphosis7

I had been debating whether or not to purchase the set, because, like I wrote above, I just wasn’t crazy about the color range. And, to boot, the examples people were sharing on Instagram were a bit dramatic for me. The set just wasn’t doing it for me… But then ColourPop sent me a coupon for $5 off my next purchase. I’m a little ashamed to say that this is what pushed me over the edge to finally trust Dani with her latest creation and purchase the $20 set.

AVD-06Aug15-Metamorphosis4 AVD-06Aug15-Metamorphosis3 AVD-06Aug15-Metamorphosis2 AVD-06Aug15-Metamorphosis5

Like Frida, Dani’s Lippie Stix collaboration with ColourPop, she put a lot of thought into her Metamorphosis Super Shock Shadow set. Metamorphosis is meant to be taken both literally and figuratively in that Dani wants to encourage her viewers to grow and be the best that they can be — “be the change” as the mint packaging states (Dani’s favorite color), and to quote beautiful words once spoken by Mahatma Ghandi, “be the change you wish to see in the world.” Additionally, she designed the shadows to be metamorphic (or changeable) when worn over other shades. Think about what Hope (the glimmering unicorn-fairy-dust shade from the set) or Kindness (a gorgeous, complicated burnt mauve with a story to tell) would do over a black shadow. Dani has filmed multiple videos illustrating this feature, so I decided to keep my EOTD simple and confined to the four shades in the set.

AVD-06Aug15-Metamorphosis1

In the end, simple is just the way I prefer the Metamorphosis Super Shock Shadows. This photo really doesn’t do the set justice. It’s actually brilliant — a “unicorn and baby-tears, fairy-dust” (as Dani would say) version of a neutral set. Hey, we couldn’t expect anything less from Dani right?

AVD-06Aug15-Metamorphosis9

The ColourPop website describes the colors, from left to right, as:

Kindness– Warm red brown undertone with a gold, green and blue duo chrome in a Sheer Opal finish

Strength– Soft peachy caramel in a Satin finish

Hope– Radiant opal with pink, violet, blue and silver duo chrome in a Sheer Opal finish

Bravery– True medium brown in a Matte finish

Once again Dani created a product that was well thought out and enjoyable to use. If you’ve got $20 and want a fresh, fun take on a neutral eyeshadow set with plenty of opportunities to transform into the dramatic, then go ahead and splurge on Metamorphosis!

Thanks for checking out the post! I hope you have a vibrant day.

XO,

Jacqueline

29 Comments

  1. These are such preeeeety colors .Just my colors. With these shadows on my eyes I will definitely have a vibrant day. You can check my post on eyeshadow…ESTEE LAUDER pure color instant intense eyeshadow

  2. plus+beauty27 says

    This set looks so lovely! I’ve had my eye on this one. That shadow color looks so soft and pretty on your eyelids Jacqueline. 🙂 How have you been lately? I hope you’re enjoying your summer! 🙂 XO

    • Hi, Katie! It is a pretty set. Does it seem very similar to you Lights set?
      I’ve been good, but busy. Work, old house and new house projects, kids summer fun, etc. Things are great. How’re you? What’s new?

      • plus+beauty27 says

        Hi Jacqueline!
        I think the Where The Light Is set may have more shimmer/glitter in it but yeah it’s somewhat similar. 🙂
        I’m glad to hear you have been doing well. I am doing pretty good right now. I recently went through a rough patch with my health but am doing better. Just going to be preparing for the big move that will be happening in October. 🙂

      • October will come so soon! I just had an epiphany about our own move when thinking about how soon you’ll be moving. Time goes so quickly! It’s a long enough time that we’ll be able to get things done if we keep plugging along though, right?

      • And, I’m glad you’re feeling better. I’m sorry you had a rough patch. I hope your doc is finding something that works. XO

    • They’re fun, and they really are good products — especially for the price. I think they have a $5 off deal going right now. It popped up automatically for me. If you end up splurging, I’ll look forward to your thoughts. :0)

      • I’m well thank you, how are you? Yess, and working it is! Looks like it will be the beach house after all. lol. I’ve been so busy with a million things, can you believe that this is the first time in weeks that I’ve logged in via my laptop ? I’ve just noticed wordpress’s new layout. I’ve got get back to blogging… How is the house building going?

      • Hi! Beach house?! Hooray!! Maybe you will do a post on the new house/ process at some point?? Congratulations!
        Our house is going well. I’ve been meaning to do a house-update post soon. It’s cruising along now :0) They’re working on electrical at the moment. We’ll hopefully be in by the end of October!

  3. Kindness is GORGEOUS! Do they sell the shades individually or they’re only in the set? I bet Kindness and Hope would look amazing on a black cream base!

    • Darn it, it only comes as a set! Have you tried any of ColouPop’s products?
      And, wouldn’t it be fun to try those two on black?! Talk about drama :0)

      • Well, $20 isn’t so bad for 4 beautiful and useful shades! No, I have not tried any of ColourPop’s products but they’re on my wish list to try for next year once my No-Buy is over! 🙂

  4. Beautiful! I was not sold on this palette either, but you are selling it. I am with you Dani from Coffee Break w/ Dani’s YouTube channel is so much fun!

    • Hi, Cos! I didn’t really appreciate how versatile the palette is. I usually play it safe with eye looks, which this palette does in a very feminine way… But it can also swing dramatic as well, so it’s a lot of fun!
      Thanks for saying hi! Hope your week is going well :0)

  5. These are beautiful! I just made a ColorPop purchase, but I was a little overwhelmed by the amount of beautiful shades that I just randomly picked items. I should have considered this collection!

    • Isn’t it fun that you can purchase a large quantity without making too big a dent in the budget though?! You’ll have to share your haul :0)

      • I was so excited for my package! But, it wasn’t shipped out by the time I was on my flight to LA, so I canceled the purchase because it wouldn’t arrive to the hotel on time. (I’d be outta dodge by the time it showed up.) It was a tiny bit heartbreaking… I think I ordered at a bad time with their matte launch. I’ll have to plan further ahead next time I’m in the US.

  6. I’ve been thinking about getting this for some time now and I may just have to get the Metamorphosis shadows this week. So pretty! I just love how velvety smooth the shadows glide on.

  7. Probably not something I’d go for – even though I normally prefer neutrals… Love what you did with it, though! Looks amazing…

    • Thanks, Christiana! I know just what you mean. I was t in love with the look of the set either. But, they are so user friendly. Still loving this set. How’re you?? I hope all is well :0)

      • Been having quite a rough time lately (I’m sure you’ve caught a glimpse of the whole Greek disaster on the news), thus the monster blogging hiatus. Missed it (& you guys) though, so hoping to get back to it soon. Other than that all is good – thank you for asking 💕

  8. Reify says

    Hi Jacqueline! Long time no see! Hope you are well! I was so surprised to see how subtle and everyday-appropriate those eyeshadows look swatched. Dani did an amazing job there, they look so unique and flattering! 🙂

    • Hi, Reify! My thoughts exactly. I never should have doubted Dani. The girl does her homework and seems to put her heart into all she does. It’s a fun, as well as pretty quad for sure!
      I hope all is well. XO

Leave a Reply

